Ianiri Law

Drinking and Driving Law

What should you do?
DUI, OUI Penalties

Norwell Executive Ctr.
167 Washington Street Norwell, MA 02061
781-681-4320
cell 617-650-4520
Email

Massachusetts Bar Association

mastercard and visaWe accept Mastercard
VISA


Massachusetts Drunk Driving, DUI, OUI

PENALTIES

The penalties for drunk driving in Massachusetts are very harsh.  Since the introduction of Meghan's Law, DUI or OUI in Massachusetts carries more penalties and prosecutors can completely look back into your record for prior offenses.

We are experienced with defending indivduals accused of drunk driving in the greater Boston area and the South Shore (Southeastern, MA).  To protect your rights, you need experienced counsel immediately!  Call us today to discuss your options when it comes to drunk driving charges.
  
First Offense

  • Incarceration: Not greater than 2½ years in the House of Correction.
  • Fine: Not less than $500, not more than $5,000.
  • $125 Head Injury Fund, $50 DUI Assessment, $50 Victim Witness Fee
  • License suspension for one year; A work or school hardship consideration is available in 3 months; a general hardship consideration is available in 6 months.

Second Offense

  • Incarceration: Minimum sentence of 60 days with 30-day incarceration mandatory and not to exceed 2½ years in the House of Correction.
  • Fine: Not less than $600, not more than $10,000.
  • License suspension is for 2 years; A work or school hardship is available for consideration after 6 months; a general hardship consideration is available after one year of the suspension.

Third Offense

  • Incarceration not to be less than 180 days with a 150-day incarceration mandatory and not to exceed 5 years in the state prison (felony).
  • The incarceration may be served in a secure treatment facility in lieu of the House of Correction.
  • • Fine: Not less than $1,000, not more than $15,000.
  • License suspension is for 8 years; A work or school hardship consideration is available after 2 years; a general hardship consideration is available after 4 years.

Fourth Offense

  • Incarceration not to be less than 2 years with a 1-year minimum incarceration mandatory and not to exceed 5 years in the state prison (felony).
  • Fine: Not less than $1,500, not more than $25,000.
  • License suspension is for 10 years: A work or school hardship consideration is available after 5 years, a general hardship consideration is available after 8 years.

Fifth Offense

  • Incarceration is not less than 2½ years with 24 months minimum incarceration mandatory and not more than 5 years in the state prison (felony).
  • Fine: Not less than $2,000, not more than $50,000.
  • License suspension for life with no possibility of hardship consideration.